Day 26 – Origami Practice

I feel like I’ve been away from home much longer than I really have. Is it really only Wednesday? Le Beau said he thought he was picking me up at the airport today. He misses me 🙂

I spent more time looking up origami projects and I found this Origami Fun Kit for Beginners on Amazon. It comes with three books and 96 sheets of origami paper. The reviews are good and it will be waiting for me when I get home on Friday.

Today I found instructions for a star, but scissors were required. I decided to try it anyway. As it turns out, the scissors were definitely not optional. But, I could do this right with scissors and glue two together to get a nice 3D star.

20120125-225251.jpg

As you can see, without scissors the edges are not pretty. I read a quote today that nicely summarizes how I feel about this origami process. “Striving for excellence motivates you; striving for perfection is demoralizing.” —Harriet Braiker. In the spirit of striving for excellence I decided to make something else. This little origami box was very easy to make and I can think of some practical uses in my craft room. I secured my sides with tape, but I have some brads at home that I can use as the instructions suggest.

 

 

20120125-225304.jpg

 

Leave a Reply

