Day 4 – Glass Etching

I went public with the blog yesterday and the response has been great. Thanks everyone. Le Beau says the blog is a great way to have some skin in the game. He even reminded me after dinner tonight that I needed to make something. So while he did the dishes, that’s exactly what I did. Today’s project is glass etching. You’re probably wondering what that has to do with paper so I’ll tell you. I had to soak the paper labels off the wine bottles. Then I had to print my template onto paper so I could cut it out of contact paper. See? Paper everywhere.

If you want to try this out, I used Ms. Martha’s instructions from her Encyclopedia of Crafts, but you can just Google some instructions. Note that Ms. Martha says in her book that the etching cream will permanently damage a porcelain sink so you should cover it in plastic and make a small hole to let the rinsing water through.

I prepared the wine bottles over the weekend so they would be ready when I needed them. It takes a good while to soak the labels off. The etching is not as bold as I thought it would be, so maybe I didn’t use enough cream. I’ll be giving this one to my stepdad, who loves to make his own herb and garlic infused olive oils. The bottle says oil en français, for those of you wondering.

The lighting is not so great on the final photos, I’ll try again with natural light.

Leave a Reply

